I’m a bit torn right now between staying and moving. What I am doing and the way I’m leaning depends on who I’m talking to or walking with or what activity I’m involved in at the moment.
When I have to go out into the 110% bright sunshine in Denver, I feel like moving. It’s exhausting now with the condition my eyes are in. Even sitting indoors with only filtered light coming in, I’m squinting. Then I think of that statement – “Cleveland is where all the clouds went to die” – told me by my oncologist. And I think, hm, Cleveland sounds really good right now.

    • When I see the gold aspen leaves lying on still green grass and still blossoming flowers of both summer and fall, I want to stay in Denver. Forever.
    • When I look west and see the snow-covered peaks, especially Mt. Evans standing at 14,000+ feet, I most definitely want to stay in Denver and anywhere in Colorado. The beauty is overwhelming, all year long. It is – and this is one of my favorite words – pulchritudinous here, almost to the point of being ridiculous.
    • When I think of all the great medical treatment I have received at Cleveland Clinic and will continue to need (eye surgery will be next to slow down the progression of glaucoma), I want to move to Cleveland and live in Cleveland Heights or Shaker Heights, both great neighborhoods. No more traveling twixt Denver and Cleveland – no packing, shuffling to and fro airports, paying airfares, Uber and Lyft fares. Find a pet-friendly place, and Violet and I sell or just get rid of all our stuff (except essentials like treats and favorite socks), then pack once and be done with it.
    • But, and this is the BIG BUT, when I think of all my friends here, favorite pharmacists, favorite waitress and my favorite Thai restaurant, my hairdresser Roger (omigod, Roger!), my vet (not Monica!), did I mention friends?, favorite hamburger place (Larkburger), favorite Starbucks (the big one in REI at the confluence of Cherry Creek and the South Platte River where you can watch kayakers paddle upstream into the rapids, endlessly), my favorite park in the whole world Washington Park, and did I mention friends! When I think of all those people, places and things, I’m not sure I can leave Denver. Ever. It has been home since May 1985. 31 years.

Possible Solution: Make a whole lot more money, rent an apartment in Cleveland, too, and fly back and forth whenever. I would write real hard and fast and well to get to that solution. I am also open to any other ideas or solutions … or suggestions of potential benefactors!!!

“I believe that the very purpose of our life is to seek happiness. That is clear. Whether one believes in religion or not, whether one believes in this religion or that religion, we all are seeking something better in life. So, I think, the very motion of our life is towards happiness…”
—His Holiness, Tenzin Gyatso, the 14th Dalai Lama

heinensceiling1

Ceiling at Heinen’s Grocery Store, Downtown Cleveland

